Academic Awards 2019

18.10.19 – FRIDAY , 10 am

Venue : foundr’s hall.


        Academic Awards are given annually in our Institution at the commencement of every academic year to recognise the students and encourage them for their outstanding academic achievements.  “The Academic Award ceremony 2019” was held on 18th October 2019 in founder’s hall, VMSDC Salem.


        Prof Dr.Jayachandran,department of periodontology , Dr.Sunantha , reader, the department of prosthodontics and Dr.Kruthika,, senior lecturer from the department of pedodontics where the co-ordinators of the program.


          Program started by 10 a.m in the founder’s hall with Thamizh thaai vaazhthu. Chief guest of the program was Prof Dr. Bhuminathan registar, bharath institute of higher education & research, (Deemed to be University) , Chennai . Mr.N.Ramaswamy - Director, VMRF (DU),Dr .B. Jayakar  -   Registrar, VMRF (DU), Dr.J. Sabarinathan - Director of Academics, VMRF (DU) ,Dr. Vadivel kumar – member board of management , VMRF (DU) where the guest of honour for the program.

Principal Prof Dr J Baby John gave the welcome address.

Prof Dr. N. Mohan, Vice Principal - Academic affairs  presented the academic report of the year 2018-2019.

      Dr.Vadivel Kumar, member board of management VMRF (DU), Dr.J.Sabarinathan, Director of Academics VMRF (DU), Dr.B.Jayakar, Registrar, VMRF (DU) addressed the gathering.

    Chief guest Prof Dr. Bhuminathan registar, bharath institute of higher education & research, Chennai along with other dignitaries  presented the awards to the students.

 The awards namely 1st, 2nd and 3rd place were given, for the individual subject from 1st to 4th year BDS. “Over all topper Award” first to final yr BDS is presented  to the student who has scored maximum marks in all the subjects of that particular year.

PG AWARDS for Ist year MDS  is awarded to post graduate students who have excelled in the part – I Basic science examinations in their first year.Then the special awards namely  “Best preclinical student “ ,“Best clinical student award” and  Best Intern award of this academic year were awarded.

    We have introduced this year  “Scientific presentation award for under graduates” & Scientific presentation award for post graduates” and is given to a under graduate & a post graduate sudentt who have excelled in scientific presentations and published paper in reputed journals .

“Best attendance” & “Best library attendance”  is Awarded to the students who has utilized the college library to the maximum.

 The Endowment award ... the award is given every year to the candidate for their overall best performance in each subject.

1.     “Burket Aard” is  from the department of oral medicine & radiology

2.      “Vinoo Philips memorial award ” from the department of oral & Maxillofacial surgery

3.     “ Miller award ” from the department periodontolgy Dr.Kruthika

4.     “ G.V.Black Award”  from department of conservative dentistry and endodontics.

5.     “B.R.Vacher” from the department of pediatric and preventive dentistry

6.     “Shillinburg Award” from the department of prosthodontics, crown & bridge .

7.     “Dr Burt”from the department of public health dentistry

8.     “Professor Dr.Saramma Mathew Award” from the department of oral & maxillofacial Pathology

9.       “Dr.P.Navaneetha Krishnan & Dr.M.Vadivel Kumar Award” from the department of orthodontics & dentofacial orthopaedics.

 Excellence awards of the day to recognise the consistency in the students efforts.“Founder chancellor Dr.A. Shanmugasundaram Memorial Award – 2019” is given to  a student who has excelled in academics all through the 4 years of BDS course .“Periyavar Krishnaswamy chettiyar memorial award – 2019”